I Got Fired For Using ChatGPT

Nolan Clarke
3 min readNov 26, 2023

There I was, swamped with emails at work, thinking, “I can’t keep up with this.” That’s when I decided to use ChatGPT. Honestly, it felt like hitting the jackpot at first. The emails were quick, crisp, and clear. It was like having a personal assistant who never got tired.

But then things took a turn. My boss noticed something was off. The emails were too perfect and too consistent. He’s the kind of guy who can spot a typo from a mile away and suddenly, there were none. He called me in for a chat, and I knew something was up.

In the meeting, he got right to the point. “Are you using some kind of software for your emails?” he asked. I felt caught. I mean, technically, I wasn’t doing anything wrong, right? But as it turns out, using AI in our workplace was a big no-no. I had missed that memo, or maybe I just didn’t think it applied to something like ChatGPT.

I remember sitting there, in that cold, barely decorated office, my boss staring at me over his thick-rimmed glasses. It felt surreal, like being in a principal’s office, only I wasn’t a kid anymore. I tried to defend myself, explaining how ChatGPT was just a tool to manage the workload better. But as I spoke, I realized how it sounded. I was using an AI to communicate in a job where communication was the bread and butter.

Long story short, my boss wasn’t happy. He explained that AI emails lacked the personal touch our company valued. Plus, there were privacy concerns and the whole authenticity thing. “We pride ourselves on our personal connection with clients,” he said, his voice firm and disappointed. I tried to explain, but he had made up his mind. I was let go for breaking company policy.

Walking out of that office, I felt a mix of emotions. Part of me was angry, thinking how backward it was to not embrace new technology. But another part, maybe the more rational part, understood his point. Our company has built its reputation on personal connections and bespoke services. And here I was, using an AI tool to replicate that human touch.

Looking back, I get where he was coming from. I mean, sure, ChatGPT was a lifesaver, but there’s a lot it can’t do, like understanding the nuances of our office culture or the specifics of our clients. And let’s be honest, there’s something about a human touch that AI just can’t replicate.
In retrospect, I think about the little things that make human communication unique. The way we use personal anecdotes to lighten a tense situation, or how we pick up on subtle cues in our client’s tone. ChatGPT was smart, but it wasn’t savvy in that way. It couldn’t share a laugh over a client’s joke about their dog, or sense the urgency in a terse, one-liner email.

So, here’s my takeaway: AI’s cool and all, but you’ve gotta be smart about it. Know the rules, and remember, there’s no real shortcut to the human element in our work. Plus, now I’m out here job hunting, wishing I’d just tackled those emails the old-fashioned way. Lesson learned.
And to anyone thinking of using ChatGPT or any AI tool at work, here’s my advice: Check your company’s policy first. And even if it’s allowed, use it wisely. There’s a fine line between efficiency and losing the personal touch that makes your work stand out. In the end, it’s about finding that balance between technology and the human element that makes our work truly meaningful.

--

--

Nolan Clarke

Hi, I'm Nolan Clarke! I'm passionate about life's nuances, and I explore societal, tech, and mental intricacies through my writing.